Stop the Flashing Lights

One that still flashes

the magic word for peace

I still get these, these … flashing lights. Something deep in my neural pathways that’s telling me – it’s not okay. You’re not okay. When the lights flash, reality is so broken. I feel broken. All the hope and love that I build throughout the day – watching my children play and say please and eat their broccoli – feeling the ease in my yoga practice – walking out of a lecture theater feeling a little bit wiser – being embraced by someone my soul aches for – yet all that is damaged. And the hope doesn’t linger. Hopelessness can be so crippling. I worked so fucking hard to keep the hope. I gave everything of myself to keep it. Flash. It’s gone.

I hate those moments. And they do linger.

Like cigarette smoke in your clothing. I walk around after, tainted. I feel like people can smell my fear…

View original post 113 more words

Leave a Reply

